silke zimmermann consulting

Silke Zimmermann led several international communication departments, for SONY Classical & Jazz in Hamburg and London. She was the first Head of Communication of the Federal German Film Board (FFA). The FFA is one of Europe’s major film funding institutions, with an annual budget of around 130 million Euros. Shortly after that, she built up the “Film- and Media Foundation NRW” in Düsseldorf and was appointed Director of Communication for the “Berliner Festspiele” (comprising the famous Berlin Film Fest “Berlinale”, MaerzMusik, Theatertreffen Berlin, Spielzeit Europa, Jazzfest Berlin). She was joint Head of Department for Communication at the Berliner Festspiele GmbH. It was the newly created Minister of Cultural Affairs, Michael Naumann, who breathed fresh life into the enterprise under the auspices of the German Federal Government.

In 2003, Silke Zimmermann was asked to restructure the International Communication Department at BMG Classics in Munich. She took up the new offer with alacrity, helping the company emerge with a new, international label roster (RCA RED SEAL, deutsche harmonia mundi, and ARTE NOVA). Bertelsmann AG had given the go-ahead to build up an innovative catalogue of classical, jazz and contemporary music. Two years later, the operation was bought by SONY Classical international. In 2010, the classical department in Munich was closed.

She took the plunge and has since invested her experience into many different projects, the biggest of which is the artistic direction of Schloss Elmau in Germany. This has meant the booking of more than 200 concerts & performances in classical, jazz and literature. In the legendary concert hall of Schloss Elmau the following artists have performed: Amadeus Quartett, Martha Argerich, Julian Barnes, Lisa Batiashvili, T.C. Boyle, Yefim Bronfman, Gautier Capuçon, Renaud Capuçon, Christopher Clark, Paolo Fresu, Sol Gabetta, Jan Garbarek, Timothy Garton Ash, Christian Gerhaher, David Grossmann, Monika Grütters, Daniel Hope, Janine Jansen, Hans Jonas, Leonidas Kavakos, Gidon Kremer, Nils Landgren, Walter Laqueur, Loriot, Ian McEwan, Mischa Maisky, Brad Mehldau, Milos Karadaglic, Viktoria Mullova, Herfried Münkler, Gregory Porter, Thomas Quasthoff, Christoph Ransmayr, Rachel Salamander, Grigory Sokolov, Martin Stadtfeld, Esbjörn Svenson, Daniil Trifonov, Maxim Vengerov, Jan Vogler, Edmund De Waal, Yuja Wang, Michael Wollny, Frank Peter Zimmermann, among others.

The artistic direction included the responsability for the musical programme accompanying the G7 summit hosted by Angela Merkel in the summer of 2015.